The Importance of Self Love…

I have been thinking a lot lately about how I take care of myself and questioning whether or not I really take the time to check in within myself and ask “how am I doing?”

Many of us go about our day ensuring that everyone around us has what “they” need and often times forget to check in and make sure we are taken care of.

Can anyone relate?

Only recently did I notice how not checking in with myself left me with this feeling of being like a hamster on a wheel running like mad to get things done and actually not getting anywhere.  Hamsters actually enjoy this activity, however, I have discovered for sure that I am NOT a hamster and that IS good news!

Here is what I discovered when I took the time to really look….what I needed was personal time to write.

I bet you thought I was going to say dance…Actually that would be second but WRITING…writing comes FIRST!

Writing is something that has always given me great pleasure.

For me, it is not something that I need to share with anyone and that being said, sometimes I choose to share my writing….but for the purpose of taking care of me, I just need time to write at least once a day.

Sometimes I know what I want to write about and sometimes it becomes what I refer to as a “mind dump”….just let it all out and then I can breathe again.

It is important to me that others understand that as successful as you may think I am, I literally am no different from anyone else. I forget to take care of myself sometimes.  I have thoughts that do not empower me all the time. Sometimes I really do not want to work out.

What I know though is that when I honor myself by taking time to write, bring back the positive thoughts and work out whether I “want to” or not, I always always always feel better and am able to support those around that I  love to the fullest!

It is important to discover at least one thing that you can do to take care of your SELF that will light you up and light your soul on fire!  Whatever it is for you, love it, give yourself the time to do it NO MATTER HOW BUSY YOU THINK YOU ARE and know that YOU are the most important person in your life.

Without YOU, there is NO amazing life!

YOU COME FIRST and all else FALLS INTO PLACE!

images

Published by liveoutloudmovement

We are the FIRST movement providers designed specifically to cater to schools, hospitals, businesses that our primary goal is to provide stress relief and compassion to our clients. Our programs are specifically designed to create community fun and play in high stress work environments.

Leave a comment